母親+新生兒健康

通過以婦女為中心的護理賦予婦女在分娩前,當中和之後的支援。

緊急援助基金

緊急援助基金將在需要時,為婦女和其家庭提供經濟援助。
所需投資金額:每年$150,000

應急住宿、交通資助、食堂或食品雜貨券 – 經濟援助可以為外地和低收入家庭帶來龐大的協助。

卑詩婦女醫院的社工在高危孕婦在醫院接受護理時能確認她們是否面對對經濟及人生的挑戰並需要援助。在過去的三年中,由於溫哥華的物價上升及高危妊娠婦女的人數增加,對該基金的需求量增長了277%。

  • 在溫哥華,$20可搭乘計程車費至醫院就診,進而減輕了穿梭於陌生城市的成本和壓力。
  • $60可支付一個家庭在Easter Seals House夜宿一晚的費用
  • 就近商店的$100禮品卡可補貼每一週的伙食費。讓外地婦女少一份擔憂。

您的貢獻將有助於創造公平的參與環境,並為這些家庭的挑戰提供龐大的紓緩協助。

新生兒加護病房(NICU)心肺監護儀

給予醫師挽救早產嬰兒生命的工具。
所需投資金額:$76,000 – 尚需籌款$28,000

當嬰兒的生命處於脆弱狀態下,他們的心跳可能會產生變化。在這些關鍵時刻,醫生是否能掌握早產兒的心跳、含氧量和呼吸頻率的信息,是挽救嬰兒生命的關鍵。

急性心臟呼吸監護儀+監護系統可幫助卑詩婦女醫院內新生兒加護病房的新生兒專家迅速做出決定,以挽救生命。為確保對重症嬰兒進行持續評估,該監護系統極為重要。

目前,每個新生兒加護病房都有一部監護儀作為固定設備。但是急需另一部監護儀,以擴張單人病房的功能,提供重症雙胞胎嬰兒的需求。該設備將於每日使用,您的捐款將給予新生兒加護病房中重症嬰兒的健康生活。

新生兒加護病房音樂療法基金

事實證明,音樂療法可加強父母與嬰兒之間的感情。
所需投資金額:每年$105,000 – 尚需籌款$56,000

從2019年4月起,新生兒加護病房開始在每週兩次於下午時間,在Ladybug病房為患者及其家人提供音樂療法。該實驗計劃是卑詩省針對早產和重症嬰兒的首次此類計劃。

音樂療法的效益甚多,並且可以支持多種治療目標和發育里程碑。該療法可增進親子關係。課程內容可能包括輕柔的催眠曲式唱歌、吉他音樂、輕撫和為個人寫作催眠曲。任何家庭成員皆可參與。音樂治療師將與家人緊密合作,製定最佳計劃來撫育嬰兒。

您的捐款支持音樂治療成為NICU護理的常規部分,每週五天提供服務,並支持購買樂器。您將給予父母與嬰兒建立感情的機會,並學習經證實具直接健康益處的新撫養技能。

Maternal + Newborn Health

Empowering women through woman-centered care before, during and after birth.

Home | Initiatives | Maternal + Newborn Health

EMERGENCY SUPPORT FUND

The Emergency Fund provides financial support to women and families in their time of need.
Investment needed: $150,000 each year

From emergency accommodation, to transportation support, to cafeteria or grocery vouchers – financial aid can make a world of difference for out-of-town and lower-income families.

BC Women’s Hospital’s social workers identify those women who are facing significant financial and life challenges while they are receiving care for their high-risk pregnancies at the hospital. The demand for this fund has increased by 277% over the last three years due to rising costs in Vancouver and increasing numbers of high-risk pregnancies.

  • $20 could cover a taxi to a medical appointment here in Vancouver, alleviating the cost and the stress of navigating an unfamiliar city.
  • $60 could cover the cost of a night at Easter Seals House for one family.
  • $100 could help subsidize weekly food costs, in the form of a gift card to our closest grocery story. For a woman from out of town, this is one less thing to worry about.

Your contribution will help level the playing field, and provide immense relief during what can be a very challenging time for families. 

NICU CARDIO-RESPIRATORY MONITOR

Equipping physicians with the tools to save the lives of premature infants.
Investment needed: $76,000 total, with $28,000 left to raise

When an infant’s life is most fragile, their needs can change in a heartbeat. During these crucial moments, the information a doctor has about a premature baby’s heartbeat, oxygen levels, and breathing rate can mean the difference between life and death.

An Acute Cardio Respiratory Monitor + Monitoring System helps neonatal specialists in BC Women’s Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU) make the split-second decisions that save lives. This monitoring system is essential for ensuring that the most critically ill infants are continuously evaluated.

Currently, each NICU patient room has one of these monitors as a permanent fixture. An additional monitor is needed as soon as possible to expand the capacity of single-patient rooms to accommodate the needs of critically ill twin babies. This equipment will be used on a daily basis, and your gift will support the healthiest outcomes of the sickest babies in the NICU.

NICU MUSIC THERAPY FUND

Strengthening parents bond with baby, with proven health benefits.
Investment needed: $105,000 each year

In April 2019, the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU) began offering music therapy to patients and their families in the Ladybug Unit two afternoons per week. This pilot program is the first of its kind in BC for premature and critically ill babies.

The benefits of music therapy are many, and can support a variety of therapeutic goals and developmental milestones. The therapy also improves the parent-infant bond. Sessions may include gentle lullaby-style singing, guitar music, touch, and personalized lullaby writing. This includes family members whenever possible. The Music Therapist works closely with families to come up with the best plan to support their baby.

Your gift will establish Music Therapy as a regular part of NICU care for five full days per week, and support the purchase of musical instruments. You will give parents the chance to strengthen their bond with their babies and learn new support skills that have been proven to have direct health benefits.